Andrew Medal

Introduced in 2012 in commemoration of the late Professor Syd Andrew a distinguished expert in the field of catalysis, the Andrew Medal will be awarded every three years to recognise a major contribution relevant to 'the science of formulation of heterogeneous catalysts'. The medal will next be considered in 2017.

View previous medallists >>

Who is it awarded to?

It will be awarded to an individual or company on the basis of their research into heterogeneous catalysts that has found expression in either:

  • a significant new process concept of economic significance ( e.g. the Methanol Synthesis Catalyst allowed low pressure Methanol production, or the steam reforming of naphtha over an alkalised nickel catalyst).
  • a significant new product of economic significance (e.g. fuel cell, battery, sensor, geoengineering solar screen, pharmaceutical intermediate…).
  • a significant contribution to the testing or science of heterogeneous catalysts that enables novel process or new reactor designs for existing processes, and has been demonstrated to do so at a commercial scale.


The winner of the award will also be invited to present a lecture.

How is the winner decided?

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to:  

Download the application form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2017

For more information contact:


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).