Bird, Stewart & Lightfoot Medal

The Bird, Stewart & Lightfoot Medal was launched in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of transport phenomena. Byron Bird, Warren Stewart & Edwin Lightfoot were the authors of the seminal book 'Transport Phenomena'.

Who is it awarded to?

The medal will be awarded biennially to one of more individuals who have made a significant recent contribution to research in transport phenomena. The contribution should show an enduring impact, such that it has initiated a change that has been widely adopted and either continues to give a lasting benefit or has inspired others to develop further.

How is the winner decided?

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals & Prizes Committee.

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to:  

Download the application form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2018

For more information contact:

2017 - deferred

2015 medal winner

Professor John Davidson
(University of Cambridge, UK)


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).