Geldart Medal

Introduced in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of particle technology.

Derek Geldart was renowned in particular for his diagram classifying powders according to their fluidization behaviour, and respected member of the worldwide particle technology community. Geldart was Emeritus Professor of Powder Technology at Bradford University in the UK and is remembered as ‘one of the most prominent professors in the field of fluidization and powder technology”.

Who is it awarded to?

The medal will be awarded biennially to one of more individuals who have made a significant recent contribution to research in particle technology. This will be recognised through scientific advancements widely acknowledged within the community and high impact findings recognised outside the particle technology community. 

How is the winner decided?

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to:  

Download the application form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2018

For more information contact us

2016 medal winner

Professor Jim Litster
(University of Sheffield)

2014 medal winner

Dr Colin Thornton
(University of Birmingham)

My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).