Arnold Greene Medal

IChemE medal Prior to 1964, known as Osborne Reynolds Medal

Named after a founder member of the Institution who served as President and Honorary Treasurer, this medal is awarded each year for the most meritorious long-term contribution to the progress of the Institution.


Who is it awarded to?

The Greene medal is awarded every year to an individual who has made the most commendable long-term contribution to the progress of IChemE.

View previous medallists >>

How is the winner decided?

Nominations are put forward to the annual meeting of the Medals and Prizes Committee by Council members, Special Interest Group & Member Group chairs and members of staff. The final decision rests with the Medals and Prizes Committee.

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Nominations, including a brief outline on the reasons for nomination, can be put forward via the chair of a Member Group or Special Interest Group, or sent directly to:

Download the application form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2017

For more information contact:

2016 medal winner

Bill Thompson
(Rotherwood Associates)
In recognition of 25 years’ of continuous and outstanding service as BESIG Publicity Officer, committee member and ambassador for IChemE.

2015 medal winner

Keith A Johnson
(Sellafield Ltd)
For his long term commitment and support to the IChemE accredited graduate scheme at Sellafield and the Nuclear Technology Special Interest Group.

2014 medal winners

Professor Stephen Richardson
For his long-standing engagement with the IChemeE journals.

Mr Ron Dalton
For his contribution to the Scottish Member Group.

2013 medal winner

Mr Keith Batchelor
For his valuable contribution to IChemE as Honorary Treasurer from 2007 - 2013.

2012 medal winner

Mr Brian Songhurst
For his valuable contribution to the Institution over many years, specifically in connection with his association with the Oil and Natural Gas Special Interest Group.

2011 medal winners

Mr Wolf Hamm
For his invaluable contribution to IChemE's work over 40 years, and in particular his involvement in the Food & Drink Special Interest Group since its formation in 1984.

Dr Michael Considine
For his sustained safety leadership role as chair of the Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group.

2010 medal winner

Mr Robin D Turney
For his valuable contribution to the Institution over many years, specifically in the safety area, having served as Chairman of the Loss Prevention Panel, as well as participating as a member of EFCE Working Parties and the Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group

2009 medal winners

Dr John S Parkinson
For his valuable contribution to the Institution over some 40 years at national and more specifically at regional level within the Midlands Branch.

Miss Beverley A Garratt
On completion of 30 years service at IChemE.


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).