Guggenheim Medal


The Guggenheim Medal, named after one of the most well known thermodynamicists of the 20th century, was introduced in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of thermodynamics and complex fluids. Edward A Guggenheim was professor at the University of Reading and is noted for his 1933 publication of the Modern Thermodynamics, which defined the emerging field.

Who is it awarded to?

The Guggenheim Medal will be awarded, on a biennial basis, to one or more individuals who have made a significant recent contribution to research in thermodynamics and / or complex fluids. The contribution could encompass, but need not be limited to, new experimental techniques for the study of complex fluids at the molecular, mesoscopic or macroscopic scale, new theoretical or computational developments for the calculation of thermodynamic properties, and / or developments of new complex fluids of potential interest for technological processes and applications.

How is the winner decided?

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Awards Committee.

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to  

Download the application form

When is the deadline?

31 October 2018

Contact for more information

2016 medal winners

Professor Pablo Debenedetti
(Princeton University, USA)

Professor Martin Trusler
(Imperial College London, UK)

2014 medal winner

Professor George Jackson
(Imperial College London, UK)

My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).