Hanson Medal

Hanson medal

The Hanson Medal is awarded to the best contributor to the Institution's magazine, The Chemical Engineer, each year and is named after a past Chairman of the Editorial Advisory Board. 


Who is it awarded to?

The Hanson medal is awarded to the author or authors of the best article to appear in The Chemical Engineer (tce) magazine each year.

View previous medallists >>

How is the winner decided?

The editor of The Chemical Engineer (tce) initially selects suitable candidates and a final decision is then made by the Publications Medals Board. Their decision then requires approval from the Awards Committee.

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Nominations are invited from all readers of tce and the final decision is made by the Awards Committee with advice from the Publications Medals Board. Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to: medals@icheme.org  

Download the nomination form >>

When is the deadline?

30 September 2017

For more information contact: medals@icheme.org

2016 medal winner

Dr Martin Atkins (University of Waikato, New Zealand) for his article “Choice Cuts”, published in The Chemical Engineer, May 2016.

2015 medal winner

Dr Peter Gostomski (University of Canterbury, New Zealand) for his article "Down but not out", published in The Chemical Engineer, October 2014.

2014 medal winner

Mr Andrew McCartor (Pure Earth) For his article "Hidden Dangers", published in "The Chemical Engineer", May 2014.

2013 medal winner

Dr Nick Hallale (M) (Essar Oil (UK) Ltd) For his article "The safety of culture", published in "The Chemical Engineer", May 2013.

2012 medal winners

Taco Hoencamp & Henk Oosterdijk (Royal Haskoning DHV, The Netherlands)

For their article "Lake Kivu: turning a threat into prosperity", published in "The Chemical Engineer", June 2012.

2011 medal winners

Two separate awards were made in 2011 Professor Stephen F Bush (F) (University of Manchester & Prosyma Research) David R MacDonald (Hill Path Projects)

For their article "Squaring the circle", published in "The Chemical Engineer", October 2011 and Dr Mike Pitts (Chemistry Innovation KTN) For his article "Endangered elements", published in "The Chemical Engineer", October 2011.

2010 medal winners

Dr Christian Schulze Gronover (Fraunhofer Institute for Molecular Biology and Applied Ecology, Germany)

Professor Dirk Prufer (Westfalische Wilhelms-Universitat Munster, Germany)

For their article "Rubber doesn't (just) grow on trees", published in "The Chemical Engineer", May 2010.

2009 medal winners

Dr Jon-Paul Sherlock (F) (AstraZeneca R&D) Professor Martyn Poliakoff (F) (University of Nottingham) Dr David Lathbury (AstraZeneca R&D) Professor Steven Howdle (University of Nottingham)

For their article “Ten things chemists should know about chemical engineers (and vice versa)”, published in “The Chemical Engineer”, December 2008/ January 2009 (pp 28-29).


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).