Macnab-Lacey Prize

 Who is it awarded to?

The Macnab-Lacey Prize is awarded to the undergraduate student design project team whose design project submission best shows how chemical engineering practice can contribute to a more sustainable world.

The objectives of the competition are to:

  • encourage students to think of sustainable development as a key element of their design projects
  • influence chemical engineering departments to position sustainable development at the heart of the curriculum
  • demonstrate that IChemE takes sustainable development seriously
  • provide a showcase for student talent, and reward achievement


The winning entry will receive a prize of £750.

How is the winner decided?

All design projects involving students on courses accredited by IChemE are eligible for entry. Each accredited department is asked to judge internally all of its student design projects and to choose one entry to submit to the judging panel. 

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Detailed entry criteria can be found on the web page of the Sustainability Special Interest Group.

Entries should take the form of a summary of the project on no more than four sides of A4. The summaries will be reviewed by the judging panel, to select a short list of entries for the final round of judging. In this final round, entrants may be asked to make available their full design reports for detailed examination by the panel.

Entries should preferably be sent to:

Alternatively they may be submitted on CD ROM by post.

When is the deadline?

The closing date for entries is 29 June 2018.

For more information contact us.

2017 prize winner

University College, London
Conversion of Ligno-cellulosic Biomass to Ethanol

Highly commended:

Monash University - Bio-Methanol Production; and
University of Manchester - Sustainable Production of Hydrogen

2016 prize winners

University of Manchester
Charmaine Chee
Luke Dryden
Luke Glynn
Hendrick Hendrick
Andrew Shannon
Hui Ling Tan

Highly commended:

Monash University
Nathan Brosnahan, Mitchell Fry, April Jinnette, Sean McKellar, Steven Prokpoiwskyi and Kim Sho

Imperial College London
Kagiso Bikane, Panuvit Bunrittiphol, Kelly Kan, Bilal Khan, Siying Lu, James Metcalfe, Arthie Nimalan, Tyrone Scille, Matthew Stevens and Natalie Yip

2015 prize winners

Imperial College London
Uzo Nwachukwu
Olumayowa Okulate
Priyank Shah
Leona Y S Tan
Yash Dongre
James Ellis
Joseph Wilson
Jaipal Sachdev
Richard Chang

2014 prize winners

Monash University, Melbourne
Richard Arthur
Jimmy Nguyen
Trang Truong
Kirilly Wagstaff
Daniel Wielechowski
Makarios Wong

2013 prize winners

Monash University, Melbourne
Yue Jiao
Peter Harris
Agnes Marcella
Abdullah Al Harthy
Jia Low
Timothy Werner

2012 prize winners

University of Manchester
Tess Cakebread-Brown
Ky Hibberd
Hafiz Karim
Matt Lee
David Morgan
Michael Price

2011 prize winners

University of Manchester
Sarah Bickerton
William Booth
Richard Gowers
Andrew Harrison
Maryam Ojetola
Vanessa Suinggi
Sophie Wilkinson

The Macnab-Lacey medal succeeds the historic Macnab Medal.

View previous medallists >>


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).