Underwood Medal

Introduced in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of separations.

Who is it awarded to?

The medal will be awarded biennially to one or more individuals from academia or industry who have made a significant sustained recent contribution to research in the area of separations. The contribution can be, but need not be limited to, the development of the science, engineering or understanding behind an existing separation technology or development and implementation of a new separation technology. Impact of the contribution should be seen to extend beyond the individual(s)’ specialised area. 

How is the winner decided?

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

How do I enter or nominate somebody?

Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to: medals@icheme.org  

Download the application form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2018

For more information contact us.

2016 medal winner

Professor Andrew G Livingston
(Imperial College London, UK)

2014 medal winner

Professor (Neal) Tai-Shung Chung
(National University of Singapore)


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).