01 May 2017

SAIChE IChemE AGM 2017

The SAIChE IChemE AGM was held on the 20 April 2017 in Johannesburg. The President, Dr Dawie van Vuuren, welcomed the attendees, relayed apologies, and the minutes from 2017 were approved. Dawie thanked the council members, the executive committee and the secretariat of SAIChE IChemE for their contribution to the institution as well as for their effort towards helping compile the annual report. This report was presented to the attendees at the AGM. The meeting ended with A/Prof. Craig Sheridan accepting the position as new president.

The Silver Medal Awards for 2016 (top graduating Chemical Engineering students) were: H. Marais (UP) S. Ditlhobolo (UJ); A.M. Da Camara (NWU), T. D. Pons (UCT); S. Madhi (WITS); S. Pillai (UKZN); W.C. Ruwona (CPUT) and I. Sielinou Ngankam (TUT).

We would like to thank everyone for attending the AGM, and encourage our members to participate in their local branch activities.

Written by Kevin Harding and Michelle Low on behalf of SAIChE IChemE Council

My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).