Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group
Safety at the heart of the process


The committee of the Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group organises technical events, undergraduate Safety & Loss Prevention education, and handles consultation with regulators and professional bodies on behalf of IChemE.

The committee meets quarterly and works closely with IChemE's Safety Forum and Loss Prevention Panel. Increasingly the committee is working with other professional institutions and interest groups to promote its agenda.

The Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group is charged with delivery of the Health, Safety, Environment, and Public Perception of Risk section of IChemE's Technical Strategy Roadmap.

The committee is supported by IChemE staff.

Committee members

Chair: Gary Pilkington
APEX Process Safety Ltd., UK

Secretary: Vacant

Treasurer: Allen Ormond
ABB Ltd., UK

Webmaster: Martin Goose
Process Safety Consultant, UK

Graham Ackroyd
Syngenta Ltd, UK
Shahana Buchanan
Nestlé SA, Switzerland
Mike Considine
Sheffield University, UK
Joe Eades
Ispahan Group, Singapore
Iqbal Essa
Health & Safety Executive, UK
David Fargie
BP International Ltd, UK
Paul Feltoe
Safety Solutions Ltd, New Zealand
Stephen Groves
Karen Jacka
Bumi Armada Berhad, Malaysia
Robert Jorgensen
RKEJ Pty Ltd., Australia
Andy Mackiewicz
Haroun Mahgerefteh
University College London, UK
John Munnings-Tomes
Navigators Technical Risk, UK
Martin Pitt
University of Sheffield, UK
Andy Rushton
ESR Technology, UK
Clive de Salis
Murphy Oil, UK
Janet Skinner
Petrofac Engineering & Consulting Services, UK
Panos Topalis
DNV GL - Software, UK
Robin Turney

My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).