22 May 2012

The University of Melbourne students clinch design prize

Melbourne University logo

A team of students from the University of Melbourne, Australia, has been awarded the 2012 Pratt Prize in recognition of their design project on the production of ethanol from biomass.

The University of Melbourne team comprising of Francis Heil, Matt Keane, Grace Lethlean, Rachel Savio and Sal Walters took the top prize with teams from Monash University and RMIT runners-up.

The Pratt Prize is a highly sought after award amongst Victoria’s chemical engineering students and is awarded annually to the best final year chemical engineering design project submission. The prize is co-ordinated by the Joint Victorian Chemical Engineering Committee (JVCEC) and the winner of the award automatically qualifies for entry into the Jacobs Prize that will be presented at Chemeca 2012 in September.
IChemE Victorian Chair, Gordon Keen said that the judging was challenging due to the high calibre of entries: “Teams put in a huge amount of work and the evening’s audience of students, academia, industry, family and friends got to hear firsthand about their challenges and issues, lessons learnt and tips for students who are about to commence their fourth year design project.”

Keen also provided helpful tips towards a successful entry, such as the importance of clear and concise descriptions, consistency, sound methodology and a simple executive summary.

The prize is awarded in memory of the late Clive Pratt, a distinguished honorary professional fellow at the University of Melbourne.  Pratt was instrumental in the set-up of the Victorian IChemE member group and was the first chairman of the National IChemE Committee (1967 -68) in Australia.

Prizes were presented by IChemE Fellow, Robert Pratt, son of Clive, and the event was supported by Uhde Asia Pacific and ExxonMobil.

My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).