05 August 2013

Chief scientist to open Chemeca 2013

Professor Ian Chubb, Australia's Chief Scientist

Australia’s chief scientist, professor Ian Chubb AC is to officially open this year’s Chemeca conference on Monday 30 September at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, Australia.

The role of Australia’s chief scientist’s is to provide high-level independent advice to Australia’s prime minister and ministers on all matters relating to science, technology and innovation.  This appointment also holds the position of executive officer to the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council.

IChemE director Australasia, Peter Slane says that as champion for science in Australia, securing Chubb is a major coup for the event providing the opportunity for Australia’s chemical engineering community to highlight some of the most pressing issues we face today.

“Chubb’s presence will also provide an opportunity for direct IChemE engagement, supporting our technical strategy, Chemical Engineering Matters, on seeking out opportunities to open up channels of communication with government on chemical engineering solutions to benefit the wider community.”

Chubb, a neuroscientist and recognised for his invaluable work in the research community, was appointed to the three year term of Australia’s chief scientist in April 2011.  The appointment followed an illustrious academic career that saw him recently retire as vice-chancellor of the Australian National University and serve on several peak advisory boards and committees for education, training and employment.

Other high profile speakers at Chemeca 2013 include chair of the UK’s Health & Safety Executive and IChemE president, Judith Hackitt, ex-NASA payload specialist Dr Al Sacco junior, Dow Senior vice president Jim McIllvenny, Caltex ceo, Julian Segal and former US energy expert and inaugural director to the University of Queensland’s Centre for Sustainable Excellence, Professor Eric McFarland.



My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).