Donald Medal

The medal is named after a long-serving Honorary Secretary and former Ramsay Professor at University College London where biochemical engineering was first established in the UK, and awarded by the Biochemical Engineering Special Interest Group for outstanding services in that area.

Who is it awarded to?

The Donald Medal is awarded to an individual for outstanding services in biochemical engineering.

How is the winner decided?

Nominations are sought from anyone interested in the subject area, including IChemE’s Biochemical Engineering Special Interest Group. The Special Interest Group Committee recommend a winner to the Awards Committee.

How do I nominate somebody?

If you are a member of the Biochemical Engineering Special Interest Group you will be asked to submit nominations. Other nominations of no more than 600 words should be sent to:

Download the nominations form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2018

For more information contact us.

2017 medal winner

Professor Christopher J Hewitt
University of Aston, UK

2016 medal winner

Professor David J Williams OBE
Loughborough University, UK

2015 medal winner

Professor Athanasios (Sakis) Mantalaris
Imperial College London, UK 

2014 medal winner

Crawford Brown
Actavis Biologics

2013 medal winner

Professor Nigel J Titchener-Hooker
University College London, UK

View previous medallists >> 


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).