MM Sharma Medal

The MM Sharma Medal, launched in 2014, recognises sustained outstanding research contributions in chemical engineering across an individual’s career.

Who is it awarded to?

The medal is presented alternate years, to an individual who has, across his or her career, made a significant contribution to the field of chemical engineering research. The judging committee will consider: originality and impact of research, innovation, professional standing, and other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator.

From 2018, following a kind donation from Dr A V Rama Rao (Founder, Avra Ltd) and Professor J B Joshi (ICT Mumbai) in support of the MM Sharma medal, the winner will also receive an award of £1000.

How is the winner decided?

Nominations will be considered by IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

How do I nominate somebody?

Nominations should be made by a senior practicing or retired academic or academic, run to no more than 600 words and be sent to:

Download the nomination form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2019

For more information contact us.

2017 medal winner

Professor Geoffrey F. Hewitt
Imperial College London, UK

2015 medal winner

Roger Sargent
Imperial College London, UK


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).