Frank Morton Medal

Named in memory of a past President, Professor Frank Morton, it commemorates his dedicated service to teaching. The award provides professional recognition by IChemE for excellence in chemical engineering education.

Frank Morton was a popular chemical engineering professor who taught at both Birmingham and Manchester University. 

Who is it awarded to?

The Morton Medal is awarded to the individual who has best demonstrated excellence in chemical engineering education. In particular, it looks to recognise the work out outstanding educators as well as 'game changers', and to promulgate best practice in chemical engineering education.

How is the winner decided?

Nominations are sought from all those interested in engineering and education. The best nominee is selected by a panel consisting of representatives from Birmingham and Manchester University, together with representatives from IChemE’s education community, and passed to the IChemE Awards Committee for a final decision.

How do I nominate somebody?

Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to:

Download the nomination form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2018

For more information contact us.

2017 medal winner

Professor Eva Sorensen
University College London, UK

2016 medal winner

Robert F Mudde
Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

2015 medal winner

Dr. Khairiyah Mohd Yusof
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia

View previous medallists >>


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).