Technical committee

All content presented at Hazards is peer reviewed by a technical committee of process safety experts. Technical committee members lead on:

  • identifying key topics in, and related to, process safety and ideas for keynote speakers
  • reviewing and providing feedback on abstracts and papers submitted for the conference
  • contributing or soliciting contributions to the conference through their own professional network
  • helping to raise awareness of sponsorship and exhibitor opportunities throughout their own professional network
  • advising and helping IChemE staff with the future development of the conference
  • attending the conference where possible and chairing appropriate technical sessions.

Committee members

The technical committee consists of members covering a spread of expertise in the various aspects of process safety. Current committee members:

  • Laurence Cusco - Chair (Health and Safety Executive)
  • Lee Allford (Consultant)
  • James Birch (FMC Lithium)
  • Jonathan Carter (Marsh)
  • Tony Clayton (Environment Agency)
  • Andrew Crerand (Shell)
  • James Fairburn (Chevron)
  • Trish Kerin (IChemE Safety Centre)
  • Caroline Ladlow (Kindlow Safety Services)
  • Diego Lisbona (Office for Nuclear Regulation)
  • Andy Mackiewicz (AMPA Associates)
  • Rob Magraw (BakerRisk)
  • Arvinder Saimbi (Wood Group)
  • Felicia Tan (BP)
  • Christopher Tighe (Imperial College)
  • Craig Williams (Syngenta)
  • Azzam Younes (ABB)

About the committee

From 2018, members are appointed on to the technical committee for a period of three years. At the end of this term, individuals may stand for re-election to continue as a committee member for a further period.

The conference Chair is typically elected from within the existing committee membership for a period of three years with an option to serve for a further period of up to three years.

Technical committee members will typically be Chartered Chemical Engineers or equivalent.

Membership of IChemE is not a pre-requisite to serving on the technical committee (except for the role of conference Chair).

Technical committee members are expected to be actively involved in all aspects of the work undertaken by the group and a commitment to active participation is essential.

The number of members permitted on the technical committee at any one time is limited, so potential candidates may be placed on a waiting list until a suitable vacancy arises.

The technical committee composition is typically reviewed at the end of each iteration of the conference series.

Apply to join the committee

Prospective technical committee members should send their CV to