Clean Energy Special Interest Group
A focus for energy technology


The Hebden Medal

IChemE’s prestigious Hebden Medal is awarded by the Clean Energy Special Interest Group for outstanding services by an individual in the field of gasification research, development and commercialisation.

Dr Dennis Hebden was a leading figure in the development and commercial realisation of British Gas technologies.

Winner 2016

John Griffiths and David White – in recognition of their years of service for IChemE and promotion of gasification as a clean energy technology in the governmental, institutional and public arenas.

Winner 2007

Andy Brown (Progressive Energy Ltd, UK) – for promoting and commercialising gasification for the generation of very low emission electric power.

Winner 2004

Piet Zuiderveld and Jan de Graaf (Shell Global Solutions, The Netherlands) – for advancing the application of gasification and its role in the production of hydrogen, electric power and chemicals feedstock.

Winner 2001

Douglas Todd (General Electric, UK) - for promoting the development and sale of General Electric gas turbines for use on gasification syngas fuel.

My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).