Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group
Safety at the heart of the process

Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group


Members of the Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group provide nominations for the annual award of the prestigious IChemE Franklin and Frank Lees Medals recognising excellence in process safety.

Franklin Medal

The Franklin Medal is awarded for outstanding service by an individual in the fields of occupational health, safety, loss prevention and care for the environment. Ned Franklin was a past IChemE President and a major personality in the development of the nuclear power industry.

Winners >>

Frank Lees Medal

The Frank Lees Medal is awarded for the most meritorious publication on the topic of safety and loss prevention in an IChemE publication (journals, books, web resources). Frank Lees was a Professor at Loughborough University, with major contributions to safety literature including the two-volume Loss Prevention in the Process Industries.

Winners >>

Prizes and bursaries

The Safety & Loss Prevention Special Interest Group provides an annual prize to the University of Sheffield MSc course in Safety and Loss Prevention.

It also makes bursaries available for young engineers to attend prestigious events on an as required basis.



My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).