IChemE Malaysia Awards 2018
IChemE Awards 2018

History and facts

The first IChemE Awards, originally called the Excellence in Safety and Environment Awards, were managed by tce magazine and held on 23 March 1994 at the National Motorcycle Museum in Birmingham, UK.

Early sponsors and supporters of the Awards included engineering consultants Cremer and Warner, both renowned chemical engineers, and Entec Europe.

In 1994, the top prize was the Cremer and Warner Medal. IChemE president, Tony Barrell, had the honour of presenting the award to David Jones of WS Atkins, one of three environmental consultancies involved in a waste minimisation scheme in the North West of England called Project Catalyst.

Three other awards were presented in 1994 to Foster Wheeler Energy (Air Award), WaterAid (Water Award) and BP (Energy Award).

Over the years, the awards have been held at a variety of diverse venues including Lords Cricket Ground (2000), Royal Courts of Justice (2005), National Maritime Museum (2002), Alexandra Palace (2003), York (2009) and Cheltenham (2014) racecourses, and football stadiums including Aston Villa FC (1998 and 99) and Bolton Wanderers FC (2013).

The IChemE Singapore Awards and IChemE North America Awards were established in 2012, followed by the IChemE Malaysia Awards in 2013. Y.A.M Tuanku Zara Salim

In 2013, the Awards were attended by royalty for the first time when HRH Raja Puan Besar of Perak Tuanku Zara Salim, D.K.S.A, D.K.A. attended the IChemE Malaysia Awards (pictured right).

The IChemE Awards were re-named the IChemE Global Awards in 2013 in response to growing international interest.

Ten facts about the IChemE Awards

  1. BP is the most successful organisation in IChemE Awards history – they have won nine times since 1994. Sellafield Ltd is their closest challenger with eight awards.
  2. Less than 200 organisations and chemical engineers have had the honour of winning a much sought-after IChemE Award since 1994.
  3. Joint entries have succeeded on 28 occasions at the IChemE Awards between 1994 and 2015.
  4. The Energy Award and Water Award are the oldest surviving award categories – both first appeared in 1994.
  5. The Water Award has been presented on most occasions –19 times.
  6. IChemE Awards have been presented 49 times to entries and joint entries from Universities.
  7. Entries from 15 different countries have triumphed at the IChemE Awards. Successful nations include Canada, Bangladesh, Australia, Nigeria, Denmark, UK, Hong Kong, Germany, New Zealand, Malaysia, Switzerland, Portugal, USA, Ireland and South Africa.
  8. QUILL and PETRONAS were the first entry to win at two different IChemE Awards ceremonies. After succeeding at the IChemE Malaysia Awards in 2013, they went on to collect three more awards at the IChemE Global Awards.
  9. QUILL and PETRONAS hold the record for the most wins from a single entry – four awards in 2013 for their gas clean-up technology.
  10. Nearly 500 entries were submitted in 2015 from 40 different countries - records in the Awards' 23 year history.


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).