Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot Medal

The Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot medal has been withdrawn from the programme. 

The medal had been launched in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of transport phenomena. Byron Bird, Warren Stewart and Edwin Lightfoot were the authors of the seminal book 'Transport Phenomena'.

The medal was awarded biennially to one of more individuals who have made a significant recent contribution to research in transport phenomena. The contribution should show an enduring impact, such that it has initiated a change that has been widely adopted and either continues to give a lasting benefit or has inspired others to develop further.

For more information contact us

2018 medal winner

Professor Omar K Matar
(Imperial College London, UK)

View previous winners >>