

Senior Moulton Medal Award Presentation

Tuesday 22 June at 11:00 - 12:00 BST

The Senior Moulton Medal is awarded to John Perez-Calderon, M. V.Santos and N. E. Zaritzky.

Prof Noemí Zaritzky completed a degree in chemical engineering at the National University of La Plata (UNLP), Argentina in 1971 and a PhD degree in Chemical Sciences at the University of Buenos in 1984. She also specialized in Food Preservation.

Noemí was appointed Full Professor of Transport Phenomena for the Department of Chemical Engineering at the National University of La Plata in 1990.

Director of the Centre for Research and Development in Food Cryotechnology (University of La Plata - National Council for Scientific and Technical Research-CIC) (2003-2016) and Professor Emeritus (UNLP), since 2016.

Zaritzky has focused her research interests in the application of Chemical Engineering principles to the design and optimization of food processing and preservation, and waste-water treatments.

Author of 247 publications in international peer reviewed journals and 50 book chapters. She has also 6 approved patents and participated in more than 70 technical works contributing to technology transfer.

Noemí has carried out extensive scientific research and technological development in Food and Environmental Engineering and is internationally considered among the core of recognized specialists, reaching the highest research category in Argentina (Superior Researcher of the Scientific and Technological National Research Council, CONICET).

She has received the following awards:

- TWAS Award (The World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science) 2019
 in Engineering Sciences
- Distinguished Researcher Award of Argentina (2015)
- Bernardo Houssey Trajectory Award (2015)
- Bunge & Born Foundation Award in Process Engineering (2015)
- Scientific and Technological Award (University of La Plata, 2015)
- Award of the National Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences in Food Engineering (2010)
- Trajectory Award of the National Academy of Engineering (2006)

Zaritzky was the first women incorporated as Titular Member of the following Academies in Argentina: Buenos Aires Academy of Engineering (since 1997) and National Academy of Engineering (since 2007). She is also Titular Member of the National Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences of Argentina (since 2017) and Member of TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science in developing countries) since 2020.