10 October 2013

Malaysia shortlists announced for IChemE Awards 2013

HRH Raja Puan Besar of Perak Darul Ridzuan, Tuanku Zara Salim.

The shortlists for the 2013 Institution of Chemical Engineers (IChemE) Awards in Malaysia have been announced today.

The winners will be announced at the IChemE Awards and Annual Dinner on 21 October 2013 at the Grand Millennium Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. IChemE is also pleased to announce the event will be attended by royal guest of honour, Y.A.M Tuanku Zara Salim (pictured).

The ceremony in Malaysia is just one of a series of events organised by IChemE to celebrate excellence, innovation and achievement in the chemical and process industries across the world.

Other IChemE events include award ceremonies in Singapore (23 October 2013), North America (4 November 2013) and the UK (7 November 2013).

Chair of judges, Dr Ir. Professor Abdul Aziz Abdul Raman, said: “We have received an impressive set of high-quality entries this year and the organising committee would like to thank all relevant parties for supporting the awards.

“There can be no better feeling than to receive an award from one’s peers and this is what makes the IChemE Awards special”.

This year’s entries included topics such as process optimisation, sustainable engineering solutions, energy optimisation, food industry innovation, plant safety enhancement, and human capital development.

Dr Ir. Professor Abdul Aziz Abdul Raman continued: “All of the entries reflect the hard work of our enthusiastic chemical and process engineers. Malaysia definitely has some of the best brains in the world.

“I would also like to thank the judges for their hard work, time and knowledge. They have done an amazing job in assessing each entry.

“We look forward to seeing you at the awards ceremony which will be a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the success and achievement of the chemical and process industries in Malaysia”.

Please visit IChemE’s website to reserve a table at the event.

Official shortlists for the IChemE Awards 2013 in Malaysia

Education and Training Award sponsored by KL-Kepong Oleomas Sdn Bhd

  • Innovative approach for inculcation of sustainable development among future chemical engineers, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 
  • Program BAKTI pendidikan PETRONAS, PETRONAS

Young Chemical Engineer of the Year Award sponsored by Talisman Energy

  • Dr. Chong Chien Hwa, Taylor’s University 
  • Dr Tang Siah Ying, Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman
  • Ezmal bin Ab. Rashid, PETRONAS
  • Mohd Saiful bin Tajudin, PETRONAS
  • Ng Peng Sang, SynergenOG Sdn. Bhd.

Process Safety Award sponsored by MMI Engineering

  • Innovative methodology on fire and gas detector placement using risk based approach mapping, PETRONAS 
  • Managing process safety throughout GSK’s pharmaceutical and consumer manufacturing facilities in Asia Pacific Region, GlaxoSmithKline 
  • Pressure relief valve monitoring system, PETRONAS

Sustainable Technology Award sponsored by GlaxoSmithKline 

  • BacPy membrane film-heavy metal removal for water treatment, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 
  • Comprehensive tool for estimating fugitive emissions from petrochemical Industries during process design, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
  • Greener adsorbent for post-combustion carbon dioxide capture, Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS
  • Sludge management project in Melaka Refinery, PETRONAS
  • Malaysian seaweed for sustainable energy generation, Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman
  • Development of RCNet for synthesizing resources conservation, University of Nottingham, Malaysia
  • Development of microchannel photoreactor for conversion of carbon dioxide to solar hydrocarbon fuel, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
  • The world's first solid-supported ionic liquid mercury removal technology, PETRONAS, MY and Queen's University Belfast, UK

Petrochemical Processing Award 

  • Development of microchannel photoreactor for conversion of carbon dioxide to solar hydrocarbon fuel, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 
  • Optimal operation of gas processing plant under uncertain conditions, Curtin University, Sarawak, Malaysia

Innovator of the Year Award sponsored by PETRONAS

  • Prof. Dr. Ahmad Fauzi Ismail, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ida Idayu Muhamad, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia 
  • Prof. Dr. Sivakumar Manickam, University of Nottingham, Malaysia 
  • Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Chong Mei Fong, University of Nottingham, Malaysia 
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Michael Danquah, Curtin University, Sarawak, Malaysia 
  • Mohd. Fauzi bin Abidin, PETRONAS

My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).