Global Awards 2020

About the judging panel

From 2018, judges are appointed for a period of three years. At the end of this term, judges may stand for re-election to continue as a judge for a further three-year period.

The chair of the judging panel is typically elected from within the existing judging panel for a period of three years with an option to serve for a further period of up to three years as chair.

Judges will typically be Chartered Chemical Engineers or equivalent and subject matter experts.

Membership of IChemE is not a pre-requisite to serving on the judging panel (except for the role of chair).

Judges are required to score all entries in their assigned category, support fellow judges on other categories where appropriate and make recommendations to the chair regarding winners and highly commended entries. Judges are also expected to identify entries that may be better/also suited to other categories. All judges are required to sign non-disclosure agreements before judging and are required to identify any conflicts of interest before scoring entries.

The judging panel is typically reviewed in December/January.

Apply to join the judging panel

We are seeking new judges for the Global Awards 2021. If you are interested in joining our panel, send your CV to Please indicate in your email what categories you feel most suitably fit your expertise. 

IChemE reserves the right to review applications on a case by case basis and appoint judges at any time.

Judges for 2020

All entries are scored by a judging panel of subject matter experts.

  • Keith Batchelor (Head Judge)
  • Avinashkumar Karre
  • Ayssar Hanza
  • Chris Taylor
  • Danny van Schie
  • Grant Campbell
  • Jamie Cleaver
  • Jarka Glassey
  • Jason Leadbitter
  • Julian Hought
  • Kit Oung
  • Mark Thomas
  • Nigel Bowker
  • Paul Shearing
  • Rachel Cooke
  • Richard Drake
  • Sundara Viswanathan
  • Tom Rodgers
  • Tony Hasting
  • Vaughan Thomas