Western Australia (AU)

Webinar: Machine Learning and its Application

  • Date From 24th September 2020
  • Date To 24th September 2020
  • Price Free of charge, open to all.
  • Location Online: 19:30 AEST, 17:30 AWST/MYT, 21:30 NZST. Duration: 1 hour.

The Joint Chemical Engineering Committee (JCEC) Western Australia welcomes you to join them in a discussion on machine learning and it's application.

In the past decade, the machine learning field has grown exponentially. It has succeeded in solving problems we were trying to solve for decades.

In this presentation, we will talk about what machine learning is (and more specifically deep learning), and how it manages to solve difficult problems. We will have an overview of various problems and the techniques used to solve them.

Speaker

Pooya Darvehei, AI Engineer, Fortescue Metal Group

Pooya Darvehei is an AI Engineer at Fortescue Metal Group, using machine learning to create business solutions.

He has a Master of Science in Chemical Engineering and started his career as a Process Safety Engineer. He is currently finalising his PhD at Murdoch University, on modelling the growth of microalgae.

Pooya is passionate about data science and machine learning and everything related to data. He enjoys exploring various areas of machine learning such as computer vision, time series analysis, NLP, etc. But most importantly, he enjoys helping people who are new in this field and are trying to explore data science. He loves to share his knowledge and experience with them and help them in their journey. He has been closely involved with Perth Machine Learning Group and presented in multiple machine learning and data science workshops.

Time

  • 19:30—20:30 AEST
  • 17:30—18:30 AWST/MYT
  • 21:30—22:30 NZST

Member-exclusive content

Become an IChemE member to enjoy full access to this content and a range of other membership benefits. If you are already a member, please log in.


Back to events