Collier Medal

Co-sponsored by IChemE and the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Collier Medal and accompanying lecture celebrated the work of past president, John Collier. The recipient was nominated by agreement between the two sponsoring institutions.

A trust fund, administered by IChemE, was established by a gift from British Energy Group (now EDF) to enable a biennial lecture and award which was organised by IChemE in conjunction with the Royal Academy of Engineering. The recipient was always encouraged to draw on the broader implications of energy and other related matters within a broad social context, possibly including emphasis on the interface between energy, the environment and technology.

Given John Collier’s conspicuous interest in communicating difficult engineering and science issues to a broad audience, the medal recipient was also prompted to give consideration to the importance of promoting public understanding of science and technology.

Medal winners

  • 2016 – K Bellingham
  • 2013 – B Cox
  • 2011 – Lord May
  • 2006 – J Lovelock