Geldart Medal

The Geldart Medal was introduced in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of particle technology.

Derek Geldart, Emeritus Professor of Powder Technology at Bradford University in the UK, was renowned in particular for his diagram classifying powders according to their fluidisation behaviour, and is remembered as "one of the most prominent professors in the field of fluidisation and powder technology".

The medal will be awarded to one or more individuals who have made a significant recent contribution to research in particle technology. This will be recognised through scientific advancements widely acknowledged within the community and high impact findings recognised outside the particle technology community.

Nominations will be considered by a panel of experts, who will recommend a winner to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee. The Geldart medal is awarded every two years.

Criteria this medal will be judged against are:

  1. scientific advances – significantly moving the state of the art on specific topic
  2. scope and significance – demonstrated huge potential in terms of application of methods and tools to solving unsolved-challenging problems
  3. significance of impact – already widely used within and outside the particle technology community
  4. patents or publications and citations on a specific topic – pioneered or advanced a topic; motivated others to follow; established a new area of research.

How to nominate

To make a nomination, open the online nomination form and complete the information requested, paying attention to the criteria the medal will be judged against. The closing date for nominations is 31 October 2024.

Please note the following:

  • additional documents submitted outside the information provided in the nomination form will not be considered by the judges (unless specified otherwise)
  • we do not accept self-nominations
  • we do not accept nominations for sitting members of the Board of Trustees
  • unless indicated otherwise, medals/prizes are generally awarded to individuals — a single medal shall be presented in all cases.

Contact for more information.

Previous medal winners
  • 2023 — M Ghadiri
  • 2020 — J Grace
  • 2018 — D R Williams
  • 2016 — J Litster
  • 2014 — C Thornton