Guggenheim Medal

The Guggenheim Medal, named after one of the most well-known thermodynamicists of the 20th century, was introduced in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of thermodynamics and complex fluids.

Edward A Guggenheim was professor at the University of Reading and is noted for his 1933 publication of the book Modern Thermodynamics, which defined the emerging field.

The medal is awarded to one or more individuals who have made a significant recent contribution to research in Thermodynamics and/or Complex Fluids. The contribution could encompass, but need not be limited to, new experimental techniques for the study of complex fluids at the molecular, mesoscopic, or macroscopic scale, new theoretical or computational developments for the calculation of thermodynamic properties, and/or developments of new complex fluids of potential interest for technological processes and applications.

People selected for this prestigious award will be expected to present a lecture at one event of the Thermodynamics Conference Series.

Nominations will be considered by a panel of experts, who will recommend the winners to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee. The Guggenheim medal is awarded every two years.

Criteria this medal will be judged against are:

  1. impact – within and/or outside the field, both in industrial and academic sectors
  2. originality – demonstrating the pioneering or advancement of a topic related to thermodynamics and/or complex fluids, which can be quantified in terms of publications, citations, and international standing
  3. significance – potential towards achieving the UN sustainable development goals
  4. influence – adoption by the thermodynamics and/or complex fluids communities of the advancements enabled by the research advancement.

How to nominate

To make a nomination, open the online nomination form and complete the information requested, paying attention to the criteria the medal will be judged against. The closing date for nominations is 31 October 2024.

Please note the following:

  • additional documents submitted outside the information provided in the nomination form will not be considered by the judges (unless specified otherwise)
  • we do not accept self-nominations
  • we do not accept nominations for sitting members of the Board of Trustees
  • unless indicated otherwise, medals/prizes are generally awarded to individuals — a single medal shall be presented in all cases.

Contact for more information.

Previous medal winners
  • 2023 — A Galindo
  • 2020 — C A Koh
  • 2018 — D N Theodorou
  • 2016 — P G Debenedetti
  • 2016 — J P M Trusler
  • 2014 — G Jackson