Sharma Medal

The Sharma Medal, launched in 2014, recognises sustained outstanding research contributions in chemical engineering across an individual’s career.

The medal is named after Man Mohan (MM) Sharma, a highly respected professor of chemical engineering from India, director of the Institute of Chemical Technology in Mumbai, and the first Indian engineer to be elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society.

From 2018, following a kind donation from Dr A V Rama Rao (Founder, Avra Ltd) and Professor J B Joshi (ICT Mumbai) in support of the Sharma medal, the winner will also receive an award of £1000.

Any member can make a nomination for this medal. Nominations will be considered by IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee, who will confirm the winner.

Criteria this medal will be judged against are:

  1. scientific and engineering advances
  2. originality
  3. scope/significance — demonstrated potential in terms of application of methods and tools to solving challenging problems
  4. impact and alignment with progress toward a net-zero economy or the UN SDGs
  5. publications, citations, patents, or other indicators of esteem.

How to nominate

To make a nomination, open the online nomination form and complete the information requested, paying attention to the criteria the medal will be judged against. The closing date for nominations is 31 October 2024.

Please note the following:

  • additional documents submitted outside the information provided in the nomination form will not be considered by the judges (unless specified otherwise)
  • we do not accept self-nominations
  • we do not accept nominations for sitting members of the Board of Trustees
  • unless indicated otherwise, medals/prizes are generally awarded to individuals — a single medal shall be presented in all cases.

Contact for more information.

Previous medal winners
  • 2023 — N Shah
  • 2020 — P Mendes
  • 2017 — G F Hewitt
  • 2015 — R Sargent