Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of IChemE and therefore members appointed to the Board are responsible for ensuring IChemE complies with its charitable obligations and setting the strategic direction. For more information on the volunteer group structure of IChemE, please view the Volunteer Groups Organisation Chart.

The Deputy President is elected for a term of one year and at the end of that term succeeds to the role of President for one year before spending a further one year term as Immediate Past President. Vice President roles and Ordinary Members of the Board of Trustees are normally elected for a term of three years, unless the Nominations Committee varies an individual’s term in order to ensure trustee continuity. The role of Honorary Treasurer is elected on an annual basis but may stand for election up to six times.

Following a ballot held of all eligible members during April and May 2022, the following appointments were formally declared at the IChemE Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on 14 June 2022.


President for 2023/2024 (Deputy President from June 2022)
Nigel Hirst

Honorary Treasurer
David Edwards

Ordinary member
Raffaella Ocone

The call for nominations for the available seats in the 2023 elections will be sent to Voting Members (Fellows and Chartered Members) at the end of January 2023.