Davidson Medal

The Davidson Medal was a new addition to IChemE's medal portfolio in 2016, generously co-sponsored by Professors MM Sharma, A Pandit and K Niranjan. In recognition of Professor John Davidson, himself an inspirational role model to young engineers, the medal will be presented to an individual demonstrating outstanding mentorship to young chemical engineers, in academia or industry. 

Davidson is the former head of the department of chemical engineering at the University of Cambridge, and former president of IChemE. His career has predominantly been in academia, 63 years of which he spent at the chemical engineering department at Cambridge University.

The Davidson Medal recognises individuals who have been active mentors in industry or academia. 

Nominations will be considered by a panel of experts, and a shortlist of preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee. 

How to nominate

Nominations open on 1 September and close on 31 October each year unless specified otherwise.

For more information and to nominate, visit the make a nomination section.

Medal winners
  • 2021 — W Herron
  • 2020 — G Campbell 
  • 2018/19 — B Weightman
  • 2016 — S Cardoso
  • 2016 — J Chaudhuri