Guggenheim Medal

The Guggenheim Medal, named after one of the most well known thermodynamicists of the 20th century, was introduced in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of thermodynamics and complex fluids. Edward A Guggenheim was professor at the University of Reading and is noted for his 1933 publication of the Modern Thermodynamics, which defined the emerging field.

The medal is awarded to an individuals who has made a significant recent contribution to research in in thermodynamics and/or complex fluids. The contribution could encompass, but need not be limited to, new experimental techniques for the study of complex fluids at the molecular, mesoscopic or macroscopic scale, new theoretical or computational developments for the calculation of thermodynamic properties, and/or developments of new complex fluids of potential interest for technological processes and applications. 

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

How to nominate

Nominations open on 1 September and close on 31 October each year unless specified otherwise.

For more information and to nominate, visit the make a nomination section.

Medal winners
  • 2021 — C A Koh
  • 2018/19 — D N Theodorou
  • 2016 — P G Debenedetti
  • 2016 — J P M Trusler
  • 2014 — G Jackson