Morton Medal

Named in memory of a past IChemE president, Professor Frank Morton, this medal commemorates his dedicated service to teaching. The award provides professional recognition by IChemE for excellence in chemical engineering education.

Frank Morton was a popular chemical engineering professor who taught at both Birmingham and Manchester University. 

Who is it awarded to?

The Morton Medal is awarded to the individual who has best demonstrated excellence in chemical engineering education. In particular, it looks to recognise the work of outstanding educators as well as 'game changers', and to promulgate best practice in chemical engineering education.

How is the winner decided?

Nominations are sought from all those interested in engineering and education. The best nominee is selected by a panel consisting of representatives from Birmingham and Manchester University, together with representatives from IChemE’s education community, and passed to the IChemE Awards Committee for a final decision.

How do I nominate somebody?

Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to:

Download the nomination form >>

When is the deadline?

31 October 2019

For more information contact us.

2018 medal winner

Professor Jonathan Love
(Imperial College London, UK)

View previous winners >>