Sargent Medal

Named after Roger Sargent, former president of IChemE and Courthaulds professor of chemical engineering at Imperial College, the medal was launched in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of computer-aided product and process engineering. Sargent, thought by many to be the founding father of process systems engineering, had a huge influence both through his research and his many students. 

The medal is awarded to an individual who has made a significant recent contribution to research into computer-aided product and process engineering. The contribution could encompass, but need not be limited to, a concept that has promoted much interest, the solution of an unsolved problem, new methods/tools leading to innovative processes/products, or a significant advance of the state of the art within the area of process systems engineering.

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

How to nominate

Nominations open on 1 September and close on 31 October each year unless specified otherwise.

For more information and to nominate, visit the make a nomination section.

Medal winners
  • 2021 — R Gani
  • 2020 — E Pistikopoulos 
  • 2018/19 — N Shah
  • 2017 — R Smith
  • 2016 — C A Floudas (posthumously)
  • 2015 — C Pantelides
  • 2014 — I Grossmann