Underwood Medal

Introduced in 2014 to recognise a major contribution to research in the area of separations.

The medal will be awarded to an individual from academia or industry who has made a significant sustained recent contribution to research in the area of separations.

The contribution can be, but need not be limited to, the development of the science, engineering or understanding behind an existing separation technology or development and implementation of a new separation technology. Impact of the contribution should be seen to extend beyond the individual(s)’ specialised area. 

Nominations will be considered by a panel including industrial and academic members, and a shortlist and preferred name submitted to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

How to nominate

Nominations open on 1 September and close on 31 October each year unless specified otherwise.

For more information and to nominate, visit the make a nomination section.

Medal winners
  • 2021 — H Wang
  • 2018/19 — W Jin
  • 2016 — A G Livingston
  • 2014 — N Tai-Shung Chung