Clean Energy Medal

The pursuit of Clean Energy is one of the most important areas facing chemical engineers today.

The Clean Energy Special Interest Group (CESIG) introduced this new medal in 2019 to recognise a sustained and successful track record in energy. The CESIG focuses on chemical engineering activities that seek better ways to convert energy, with potential for eventual economical grid-scale deployment, and with improved efficiencies and reduced environmental impact. The Clean Energy Medal recognises the achievements of engineers in this field, and is identified as a key vista in the IChemE Chemical Engineering Matters (CEM) publication.

The medal is awarded to an individual in recognition of outstanding service in the field of Clean Energy, including but not limited to mitigation of climate change, reduction of pollutant emission and reducing utilisation of non-renewable feedstocks.

Potential areas of interest could be:

  • production of hydrogen and its use in chemical and power applications
  • CO2 capture, utilisation and storage (CCUS)
  • heat production, management and utilisation
  • bio-energy for fuels, heat and as a route to negative GHG emissions
  • recycling waste for energy production
  • co-generation of fossil and renewable fuels and their systems integration
  • energy storage systems (electrochemical, mechanical, thermal, amongst others)
  • energy efficiency.

The medal is open to all; you need to demonstrate that chemical engineering principles or processes had been involved materially in the work. The Clean Energy Medal is aimed at individuals with a proven record of work in the field over several years.

Nominations are sought for anyone with a track record in the subject area. The IChemE’s Clean Energy Special Interest Group will judge the nominations and recommend a winner to the Medals and Prizes Committee.

How to nominate

Nominations open on 1 September and close on 31 October each year unless specified otherwise.

If you are a member of the Clean Energy Special Interest Group you will be asked to submit nominations.

For more information and to submit other nominations, visit the make a nomination section.

Medal winners
  • 2021 — Y Ding
  • 2020 — R Allam