South Australia (AU)

Webinar: Hybrid Perovskite Quantum Dots for High Efficiency Solar Cells

Webinar: Hybrid Perovskite Quantum Dots for High Efficiency Solar Cells
  • Date From 28th October 2020
  • Date To 28th October 2020
  • Price Free of charge, open to all.
  • Location Online: 17:00 ACDT, 17:30 AEST, 14:30 AWST/MYT, 19:30 NZST. Duration: 1 hour.

The Joint Chemical Engineering and Industrial Chemistry Committee South Australia warmly welcomes you as Professor and ARC Laureate Fellow Lianzhou Wang , discusses Hybrid Perovskite Quantum Dots for High Efficiency Solar Cells.

Quantum dot solar cells are part of a ‘next generation’ of solar energy innovations, that avoid the need for stiff and brittle silicon wafers, achieving the same light-to-electricity conversion characteristics in chemical-based semiconductors.

“The new class of quantum dots the University has developed are flexible and printable,” professor Wang said.  “This opens up a huge range of potential applications, including the possibility to use it as a transparent skin to power cars, planes, homes and wearable technology.”

Perovskite quantum dots (QDs) have the advantages of quantum confinement effect, defect-tolerant nature, and the capability of developing lightweight and flexible films, thus attracting much recent research for a variety of functional device developments including QD solar cells and LEDs.

He will report on recent progress on a novel surface ligand engineering strategy in designing new hybrid perovskite QDs, which leads to not only fundamental understanding on the optoelectronic working mechanism of the QDs, but also remarkably improve the optoelectronic quality of the perovskite QDs. The new classes of perovskite quantum dots have been used as building blocks in Quantum Dot Solar Cells with a certified world record efficiency of 16.6% with excellent long-term operation stability.

By using QDs as light absorbing materials, the QD based photocatalysts also exhibited good performance in photocatalytic gaseous hydrogen production. The integration of perovskite solar cells and rechargeable batteries have led to a single module type rechargeable solar batteries with an overall storable solar energy conversion efficiency of >12%.

Speaker

Professor Lianzhou Wang

Lianzhou Wang is Professor and ARC Laureate Fellow in School of Chemical Engineering, Director of Nanomaterials Centre, and Senior Group Leader of Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, the University of Queensland. His research focuses on the design and application of functional semiconductor nanomaterials for renewable energy conversion/storage applications including new photocatalysts for solar hydrogen production, low cost solar cells and rechargeable batteries.

He has contributed 15 edited books and chapters, over 400 journal publications, and 17 patents, with the citations of over 26,000 times. He also won some prestigious Fellowships/awards including Australian Research Council (ARC) QEII Fellowship, Future Fellowship and Laureate Fellowship, UQ Research Excellence Award and Research Supervision Award, Scopus Young Researcher Award, and Research Excellence Award in Chemical Engineering. He is the fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry and was named in the list of the Clarivate’ Highly Cited Researchers.

Time

  • 17:00—18:00 ACDT
  • 17:30—18:30 AEST
  • 14:30—15:30 AWST/MYT
  • 19:30—20:30 NZST

Book to attend


Back to events