Andrew Medal

The Andrew Medal was introduced in 2012, in commemoration of the late Professor Syd Andrew, a distinguished expert in the field of catalysis, and is funded through the Andrew Legacy scheme, which also includes the Andrew Fellowship and bursary for a catalysis summer school.

The medal will be awarded every three years to recognise a major contribution relevant to the science of formulation of heterogeneous catalysts.

The medal is awarded to an individual or company on the basis of their research into heterogeneous catalysts that has found expression in either: a significant new process concept of economic significance (eg, the methanol synthesis catalyst allowed low pressure methanol production), a significant new product of economic significance (eg, a new fuel cell, battery, solar panel or pharmaceutical intermediate), or a significant contribution to the testing or science of heterogeneous catalysts that enables novel process or reactor designs for existing processes, and has been demonstrated to do so at a commercial scale.

Research should demonstrate a commitment to progress towards a net-zero economy and the UN SDGs.

Nominations will be considered by a panel of experts, who will recommend a winner to IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee.

Criteria this medal will be judged against are:

  1. scientific and engineering advances
  2. originality
  3. scope/significance
  4. impact and alignment with progress toward a net-zero economy and the UN SDGs
  5. publications and citations; could include patents for individuals at companies, in particular

How to nominate

To make a nomination, open the online nomination form and complete the information requested, paying attention to the criteria the medal will be judged against. The closing date for nominations is 31 October 2024.

Please note the following:

  • additional documents submitted outside the information provided in the nomination form will not be considered by the judges (unless specified otherwise)
  • we do not accept self-nominations
  • we do not accept nominations for sitting members of the Board of Trustees
  • unless indicated otherwise, medals/prizes are generally awarded to individuals — a single medal shall be presented in all cases.

Contact for more information.

Medal winners 2012—2021
  • 2021 — J Tang
  • 2017 — F Kapteijn
  • 2012 — C Hardacre