Davis Medal

The Davis Medal honours George E Davis, the founding father of the profession.

The Davis Medal is awarded to an eminent individual who has rendered exceptional service to chemical engineering. It is given not more frequently than every three years. Recent recipients include Andrew Liveris AO and Professor Roland Clift CBE in 2016.

Any member can make a nomination for this medal. Nominations should explain the eminence of the person and give a reason why they are being nominated. They will be considered by IChemE’s Medals and Prizes Committee, who will confirm the winner on the basis of the individual’s international standing and achievements.

How to nominate

Nominations for the 2026 Davis Medal will open in September 2025. 

To make a nomination, download the nomination form and complete the information requested, paying attention to the criteria the medal will be judged against. Please return the completed form to medals@icheme.org by the closing date.

Please note the following:

  • additional documents submitted outside the information provided in the nomination form will not be considered by the judges (unless specified otherwise)
  • we do not accept self-nominations
  • we do not accept nominations for sitting members of the Board of Trustees
  • unless indicated otherwise, medals/prizes are generally awarded to individuals — a single medal shall be presented in all cases.

Contact medals@icheme.org for more information.

Previous medal winners
  • 2023 — A Azapagic MBE
  • 2016 — R Clift CBE
  • 2011 — A Liveris
  • 2004 — Sir D King
  • 2001 — Sir D Harrison
  • 1998 — I Robinson
  • 1991 — J Villermaux
  • 1988 — Sir G Allen
  • 1982 — Sir M Hodgson
  • 1977 — Sir D Rooke
  • 1973 — J M Coulson
  • 1969 — F E Ireland
  • 1965 — A J V Underwood