Hutchison Medal

The medal is named in memory of past IChemE president, Sir Kenneth Hutchison, and is awarded for both practical and wide-ranging, philosophical or thought-provoking published papers.

Who is it awarded to?

The Hutchison Medal is awarded for both practical and wide-ranging, philosophical or thought-provoking published papers.

In the award of the Hutchison Medal, IChemE is looking to reward papers that are not sufficiently technical to qualify as candidates for the Moulton Medal, but are nevertheless important contributions to the literature that will stimulate further debate within the chemical engineering community.

How is the winner decided?

Papers are nominated by publications medals board assessors during the year and, delegates attending conferences which form part of IChemE’s Symposium Series are also invited to make nominations.

Nominations are invited from all IChemE members and the final decision is made by the Medals and Prizes Committee with advice from the Publications Medals Board. Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to:

How do I nominate somebody?

If you are a delegate at an eligible conference you will be invited to make nominations.

Download the nomination form >>

When is the deadline?

30 September 2018. For more information contact us.

2017 medal winners

Professor Grant M Campbell and Dr Daniel J Belton 
(University of Huddersfield, UK)

2016 medal winners

Dr R Moreno-Peñaranda
(Hosei University, Japan) 

Dr A Gasparatos
(University of Tokyo, Japan) 

Mr P Strömberg
(Swedish Environmental Protection Agency, Sweden) 

Miss A Suwa 
(Kyoto Women's University, Japan) 

Dr A Hadi Pandyaswargo
(Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)

Mr J.A. Puppim de Oliveira
(Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and São Paulo School of Business Administration and Brazilian School of Public and Business Administration (FGV/EBAPE), Brazil)

2015 medal winner

Dr K.E. Kakosimos 
(Texas A&M University of Qatar)

2014 medal winners

Dr J Sacher 
(Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile) 

Dr F Lopez 
(Universtitat Rovira i Virgili, Spain)

Dr H Segura 
(Universidad de Concepción, Chile) 

Dr J R Perrez-Correra 
(Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)

Ms L Garcia-Llobodanin

2013 medal winners

Dr Phillip Williamson 
(University of East Anglia) 

Dr Douglas W R Wallace 
(Dalhousie University, Canada) 

Dr Cliff S Law 
(NIWA, New Zealand) 

Professor Philip Boyd 
(University of Otago, New Zealand) 

Dr Yves Collos 
(Universite Montpellier 2, France) 

Professor Peter Croot 
(National University of Ireland, Ireland)

Professor Kenneth Denman 
(University of Victoria, Canada)

Professor Dr Ulf Riebesell 
(IFM-GEOMAR, Germany)

Professor Shigenobu Takeda 
(Nagasaki University, Japan)

Dr Chris Vivian 
(Centre for Environment, Fisheries & Aquaculture Science, DEFRA)

2012 medal winners

Professor Nilay Shah (F)

Dr Rui T Sousa 
(Imperial College London) 

Dr Songsong Liu

Dr Lazaros G Papageorgiou 
(University College London)