Hanson Medal

The Hanson Medal is awarded to the best contributor to the Institution's magazine, The Chemical Engineer, each year and is named after a past chair of the Editorial Advisory Board.  

Who is it awarded to?

The Hanson medal is awarded to the author or authors of the best article to appear in The Chemical Engineer magazine each year.

How is the winner decided?

The editor of The Chemical Engineer initially selects suitable candidates and a final decision is then made by the Publications Medals Board. Their decision then requires approval from the Medals and Prizes Committee.

How do I nominate somebody?

Nominations are invited from all readers of The Chemical Engineer. Nominations should be no more than 600 words and sent to: medals@icheme.org.

Download the nomination form >>

When is the deadline?

30 September 2018

For more information contact us.

2017 medal winner

John Bresland
(Former chair of the US Chemical Safety Board, USA) 

2016 medal winner

Dr Martin Atkins 
(University of Waikato, New Zealand) 

2015 medal winner

Dr Peter Gostomski 
(University of Canterbury, New Zealand)