courses

Engineering Project Management

Topic Contract and Project Management

CPD Hours 19.5

Online | In-company

Overview

Whether you are new to project and construction management, or have previous experience, this online course is an opportunity to review best practice when managing engineering projects.

You'll explore the range of project management systems, tools and techniques that are available, and learn how to apply a structured approach to project delivery, as well as how to manage issues that will inevitably crop up during a project life-cycle. 

Learning outcomes

By the end of this course, you will understand:

  • the range of project management systems, tools and techniques available
  • best practice when managing engineering projects
  • how to take a more structured approach to project delivery
  • how to manage issues during the project life-cycle with confidence.

Who will benefit

  • Engineers new to project and construction management
  • Project managers with some years of experience
  • Construction engineers and managers
  • Line managers

Course outline

  • Project basics
  • Performance 1 – measuring project performance, managing scope, managing quality, managing time
  • Performance 2 – managing resources, managing cost, integration
  • Performance 3 – managing contracting, managing risk (including HSE risk)
  • Process – project phases, project organisation, managing information, managing communication
  • Governance – opportunities, benefits management, assurance, stakeholder engagement
  • People – teams, individuals, leadership
  • Review and reflection

Previous delegates said

"I particularly enjoyed the section on 'People'. Preparing and giving presentations in a short amount of time/under pressure is a skill – so it was good practice for that. Geoff was an engaging speaker and we had some thought-provoking discussions."
Z Zaheer, Costain, UK

"The course provided an excellent grounding in capital project management in the process industries."
R Holden, Essar Oil, UK

"The content was extremely effective in laying out a structured approach to key elements of project management."
M Larkin, Chemoxy International, UK

"The exercises were well thought-out and seemed relatable to real-world scenarios."
C Speers, PQ Corporation, UK

Upcoming courses

Online 

Online courses consist of four live and interactive modules with the trainer on the dates indicated together with pre-recorded video content for independent study alongside the live sessions.

From 1 November 2023

  • Module 1 – 1 November 2023, 09:30–10:30 AWST/MYT / 11:30–12:30 AEST / 14:30–15:30 NZST
  • Module 2 – 8 November 2023, 09:30–13:30 AWST/MYT / 11:30–15:30 AEST / 14:30–18:30 NZST
  • Module 3 – 15 November 2023, 09:30–13:30 AWST/MYT / 11:30–15:30 AEST / 14:30–18:30 NZST
  • Module 4 – 22 November 2023, 09:30–13:30 AWST/MYT / 11:30–15:30 AEST / 14:30–18:30 NZST

From 17 November 2023

  • Module 1 – 17 November 2023, 13:00–14:00 GMT
  • Module 2 – 24 November 2023, 13:00–17:00 GMT
  • Module 3 – 1 December 2023, 13:00–17:00 GMT
  • Module 4 – 8 December 2023, 13:00–17:00 GMT

Live sessions are delivered via Microsoft Teams. If you don't already have this installed, you can join as a guest in order to access the training.

Face-to-face 

No scheduled dates.

Not available then?

Register your interest in alternative dates.

Fees

Course fees vary depending on delivery format and/or location. Select your preferred course date to see the relevant fees.

How to register

Select your preferred course from the list of upcoming start dates and go to the 'Book course' button at the bottom of this page.

More than one person to train?

Multi-place discounts

Discounts are available to companies booking more than one place. Bookings must be made at the same time to receive the discount.

  • 2 places – 10% discount
  • 3 places –15% discount
  • 4 or more places – 20% discount

In-company training

This course can be delivered to corporate teams, either on-site or online. This could be a cost-effective option if you have several people requiring the training. Content can be tailored to your specific requirements. Request a quotation.

Attendance certificate & CPD hours

An e-certificate will be issued at the end of the course to confirm attendance and CPD hours logged. Please note that you must attend all modules to receive the certificate. 

CPD hours should be used as an approximate guide and will vary depending on the preferred approach of the delegate and to what extent additional learning is completed.

Associated course

What Engineers Need to Know about Contracts

Learn about contract law for engineering and construction contracts and how it is used to help deliver successful projects and supplier relationships.

Back to courses