IChemE medals and prizes

IChemE’s medals programme was modernised and reinvigorated in 2022, with changes enabling the recognition of people and processes that address climate change and drive greater sustainability. These improvements led to a 46% rise in nominations for IChemE medals compared to 2021.

The 2022 medal winners are listed below. For the full details, visit the medals and prizes area of the website.

Research and teaching

Andrew Medal
Junwang Tang, UCL, UK

Davidson Medal
Paul Witt, Dow Chemical Company, USA

Morton Medal
Jarka Glassey, University of Newcastle, UK

Nicklin Medal
Dr Hannah Leese, University of Bath, UK

Junior Sargent Medal
Fani Boukouvala, USA

Joseph Carver, Sophie Manton, Steven Isaac, Jake Bull, Alana Jones, University of Bath, UK

Special interest groups

Lees Medal
Ashley Hynds, UK
Scott Templeton, UK

Macnab-Lacey Prize
Jack Pritchard, Seamus Turvill, James Ford, Harry Kay, Sam Kay, Thomas Hardwick, James Richards-Lendinez, University of Manchester, UK


Hanson Medal
Marc Reid, University of Strathclyde, UK

Hutchison Medal
Sarah Greenwood, University of Sheffield, UK
Stuart Walker, University of Exeter and University of Sheffield, UK
Harriet Baird, University of Sheffield, UK
Rorie Parsons, University of Sheffield, UK
Seth Mehl, University of Sheffield, UK
Thomas Webb, University of Sheffield, UK
Andrew Slark, University of Sheffield, UK
Anthony Ryan, University of Sheffield, UK
Rachael Rothman, University of Sheffield, UK

Junior Moulton Medal
Christopher Quarton, UK
Sheila Samsatli, University of Bath, UK

Senior Moulton Medal
Matthew Sinnott, Australia
Simon Harrison, Australia
Paul Cleary, Australia

Services to the Institution

Ambassador Prize
Yasmin Ali, UK

Greene Medal
Tony Fishwick, UK

Trustees Medal
Jarka Glassey, University of Newcastle, UK

Next: National honours >>